ANICA 2023 Scholarship winners announced

Mr. Davis Lincoln, President of Alaska Native Industries Cooperative Association, Inc. (ANICA, Inc.) announced this week the selection of ANICA, Inc.’s scholarship awards for the year 2023. ANICA, Inc., founded in 1948 by Native Alaskans, is a Native owned cooperative serving general merchandise retail stores in bush communities throughout the State of Alaska.

Each year, top high school seniors from our member villages are selected to receive scholarships based on scholastic aptitude and their commitment to the local community. Over the years, the ANICA Board of Directors has expanded the scholarship program to include a Continuing Education Scholarship, for older students who wish to further their education.

The following students were awarded merit scholarships to go on to higher learning institutions in Alaska:

Lilly Walton, Noatak

UAF $4,000.00

Kayle Kavairlook, Koyuk

Northern Industrial Training $4,000.00

Samantha Wade, Wainwright

UAF $3,000.00

Ruby Okitkun, Emmonak

UAF $3,000.00

Elicia Jones, Noatak

UAS $2,000.00

Regina Swan, Kivalina

UAF $2,000.00

Daisy-Mae Wesley, Noatak

UAF $2,000.00

Alex Onalik, Noatak

UAA $2,000.00

Halle Beaver, Kongiganak

UAA $1,000.00

Lila Barger, Buckland

Alaska Technical Center $1,000.00

The ANICA, Inc. Scholarship Program was established in 1990 and has been instrumental in helping Alaska high school graduates further their education. ANICA, Inc. is committed to providing the highest level of service to our members, and through our scholarship program we hope to extend this commitment to the future leaders of our communities.