YK region students named to UAF honors lists

by Greg Lincoln

The University of Alaska Fairbanks has announced the students named to the deans’ and chancellor’s lists for the fall 2022 semester. The lists recognize students’ outstanding academic achievements.

Students on the UAF Honors List hail from Akiachak, Bethel, Chevak, Emmonak, Mekoryuk, Napaskiak, Nunapitchuk, Toksook Bay, and Tununak.

And also from our neighboring communities – Dillingham and King Salmon.

Congratulations, we are proud of you and your communities are busting their buttons, good job, keep it up!

Students receiving a 3.9 grade point average or higher are placed on the chancellor’s list, while those receiving a grade point average of between 3.5 and 3.89 are named to the deans’ list.

The following are the students named to the fall 2022 honors lists:

Fall 2022 Chancellor’s List

Serena Core of Emmonak

Felicia Daniel of Bethel

Jere Sipary of Napaskiak

Bertha Therchik of Toksook Bay

Esther Theurer of Dillingham

Fall 2022 Dean’s List

Julian Asuluk of Toksook Bay

Ashley Edwards of King Salmon

Avery Hoffman of Bethel

Theresa Hooper of Tununak

Jolen Johnson of Dillingham

Brianna Norton of Nunapitchuk

Kristian Nudlash-Barger of Dillingham

Autumn Phillip of Akiachak

Sonni Shavings of Mekoryuk, AK

Thomasina Tall of Chevak, AK

UAF is a Land, Sea and Space Grant institution and is the leading doctoral degree-granting institution in the state of Alaska. Since it was founded in 1917, UAF has been internationally recognized for research relating to the Arctic and sub-Arctic in areas such as biology, geophysics, engineering, natural resources and global climate change.