Rep. Don Young names Sweeney 2022 Campaign Co-Chair

Alaska Congressman Don Young today (Dec. 13th, 2021) announced Tara MacLean Sweeney will join his 2022 re-election team as Statewide campaign co-chair alongside Alaska State Senator Josh Revak. Sweeney brings diverse knowledge and experience to the role having previously served as the Department of Interior Assistant Secretary of Indian Affairs under President Donald Trump, Co-Chair of Dan Sullivan for U.S. Senate 2014, Alaska Federation of Natives Co-Chair, Chair of the Arctic Economic Council and for nearly two decades for her Alaska Native regional corporation.

“I am honored to welcome my friend and respected Alaska leader Tara Sweeney to my team as my statewide campaign co-chair,” said Congressman Don Young. “Tara is a clear-eyed, determined leader who has dedicated her career to advocating for Alaska’s interests -– advancing pro-growth policies, fighting back against an endless patchwork of federal bureaucracy, and standing up against Chuck Schumer’s despicable attacks on Alaska. I look forward to working with Tara Sweeney, Senator Josh Revak and a strong coalition of Alaskans to build a campaign focused on advancing Alaska’s interests and effectively challenging the Biden administration’s many failed policies.”

“I have worked alongside Congressman Young for over 20 years, and have seen firsthand his ability to build coalitions, bring people together and promote policies that move our state forward,” said co-chair Tara Sweeney. “His work is not done, and he has the experience we need to navigate through these challenging times. As Alaska’s lone Congressman, Don Young has always carried the Last Frontier on his shoulders, and I stand with him.”

In November, Congressman Don Young formally announced members of his 2022 re-election team, including Alaska State Senator Josh Revak to serve as Campaign Co-Chair. Young is consistently ranked one of the most effective lawmakers in Congress by the nonpartisan Center for Effective Lawmaking. He is currently the longest serving House Republican, Dean of the U.S. House of Representatives and member of the powerful House Republican Steering Committee.