Meyers appointed to Alaska Food Security Task Force

Longtime Bethel farmer Tim Meyers has been appointed by Governor Dunleavy to serve on the Alaska Food Security and Independence Task Force.

Alaska imports approximately 95 percent of the food purchased by Alaskans, making our state especially vulnerable to any supply chain disruptions that will endanger the health and wellbeing of Alaska’s entire population. To encourage more in-state food production, and make Alaska more self-reliant, Alaska Governor Mike Dunleavy appointed 13 Alaskans to the Alaska Food Security and Independence Task Force. Each member brings extensive knowledge and decades of experience in food production and distribution.

Including Meyers, the Governor has appointed the following 13 individuals to the Alaska Food Security and Independence Task Force: Jim Baldwin – nonprofit Alaska food organization; Silas “Tikaan” Galbreath – Food Policy Council member; Fred Villa – General Public; Kimberly McCourtney – Alaska Farm Bureau board member; John Anderson – Active Farmer/Stock Grower; Kelli Foreman – Active Farmer/Stock Grower; Todd Elsberry – Active Farmer/Stock Grower; Mike Mosesian – Active Farmer / Stock Grower; Tim Meyers – Active Farmer/ Stock Grower; Ronalda Angasan – Alaska Native Organization; Casey Cook – City / Borough Food Access; Mingchu Zhang – Academic Interest; and Eric Wyatt – Mariculture.