Ayaprun Elitnaurvik’s National Distinguished Principal for 2023

Ayaprun Elitnaurvik Principal Josh Gill

Ayaprun Elitnaurvik School Principal Joshua Gill has been named the Alaska Association of Elementary School Principals National Distinguished Principal for 2023.

The Alaska Association of Elementary School Principals is proud to announce our National Distinguished Principal for 2023 is Joshua Gill, Principal of Ayaprun Elitnaurvik in Bethel, Alaska.

Joshua Gill was nominated and selected through a statewide search process conducted by the Alaska Association of Elementary School Principals.

Gill graduated from the University of Maine at Fort Kent with a B.S. in Elementary Education and went on to receive his M. Ed. in Educational Leadership from the University of Alaska Anchorage in 2007.

Prior to beginning his service at Ayaprun Elitnaurvik School in 2021, Gill served both as the Principal of Gladys Jung Elementary and Mikelnguut Elitnaurviat School, as well as the Director of Personnel in the Lower Kuskokwim School District.

Gill is a true educational and community leader. In addition to his leadership in LKSD, he has previously served as a Board Member on both the SESA Board, and the Alaska Governor’s Council on Disability and Special Education. Gill currently serves as a Board Member on the Alaska Down Syndrome Network, the Alaska Association of Elementary School Principals and the Alaska Council of School Administrators, and is a member of the Alaska Literacy Blueprint Stakeholder Group.

Gill has been a mainstay in Bethel and the surrounding areas and exemplifies what it means to be dedicated to student learning and his district. Previous colleague Eric Peterson shared that “Throughout his tenure in LKSD, Josh has frequently been called upon to step outside his current duties to support the greater need. Every time he has fulfilled these requests.” Gill will travel to Washington DC in October 2023 for two days of activities planned to honor and bring well-deserved recognition to the elementary administrators selected by their respective states.

The National Association of Elementary School Principals’ NDP Program was established in 1984 to recognize elementary and middle level principals who set high standards for instruction, student achievement, character and climate for the students, families, and staff in their learning communities. More information can be found at: www.naesp.org.