New and re-elected city council members take oath of office

Newly elected Bethel City Council members Teresa Keller and Mikayla Miller and incumbents Mark Springer and Mary “Beth” Hessler were sworn into office during the October 10th, 2023 regular city council meeting. Bethel Mayor Rose Hendersen gave the oath of office to the newly elected and re-elected council members.

The Canvass Board certified the October 3, 2023 election results on October 5th, 2023.

The voting was as follows:

Hessler, Mary “Beth” 154

Springer, Mark 261

Watson, Nick 130

Batchelor, Henry R. 72

Lloyd, John 98

Keller, Teresa 284

Miller, Mikayla 233

Suiter, Danny 67

Write-ins: 22

The percent of voter turnout was 9.56%. Bethel has 4,026 registered voters. 385 ballots were properly cast and 37 were early and absentee voters. Outgoing council members are Eric Whitney and former Vice-mayor Henry Batchelor Jr.