Wrestlers converge at ACS for Invitational

by Delta Discovery Staff

Boys varsity wrestling teams from all over Alaska participated at the ACS Denali Auto Glass Wrestling Invitational this past weekend in Anchorage. Wrestlers from Barrow, Bethel, Cordova, Delta, Dillingham, Eielson, Glennallen, Grace Christian, Haines, Homer, Hutchinson, Kenai, Koliganek, Kotzebue, Mt. Edgecumbe High School, New Stuyahok, Nikiski, Nome, Petersburg, Redington, Scammon Bay, Seward, Sitka, Su-Valley, Unalaska, Valdez, and Wrangell joined the Anchorage Christian Schools host team.

Paul Dyment, 130 lbs., of Bethel won the gold medal in his division. He defeated Kenai’s Daniel Steffensen in the championship match.

Bethel’s Alvinio Vasques placed second in the 112 lb. weight class. Also winning a silver medal was Sheldon Smith. He wrestled in the 119 lbs. division

Warrior wrestler Aaron Mute also of Bethel placed 6th in the 135 lb. bracket. Teammate Patricio Vasques won bronze in the 140 lbs. weight division.

Also taking home bronze medals were Jonathon Oscar in the 145 lbs. weight class and Ellis Johnson in the 152 lbs. weight division, both are from Bethel.

Bethel’s Mason Fitka, 171 lbs., placed 5th.

Elden Andrew of Mt. Edgecumbe High School wrestled in the 119 lbs. bracket. He placed 6th. His teammate Elston Dock finished in 4th in the 125 lbs. weight class.

Scammon Bay’s Cassius Sundown, 140 lbs., also placed 4th. Adrien Kopanuk also of Scammon Bay placed 5th in the 160 lbs. bracket.

Tristan Goodell of Koliganek won the gold medal in the 125 lbs. weight class. He beat Jake Stockhausen of Glennallen for the win.

ACS Denali Auto Glass Wrestling Invitational

Tournament Results

Nov. 4 – 6, 2022


1st Young Erikson, Nome

2nd Hayden Jimenez, Haines

3rd Tommy Jarnig, Seward

4th Sawyer Love, Susitna Valley Jr/Sr

5th Ryley Young, Dillingham

6th Rylen Case, Valdez


1st Aidan Schilling, Seward

2nd Alvino Vasquez, Bethel

3rd Dylan McCambly, Dillingham

4th Gusty Tunguing Iv, Koliganek School

5th Blake Bailey, Cordova

6th Ben Milton, Nome


1st Hunter Forshee-Kurtz, Seward

2nd Sheldon Smith, Bethel

3rd Oran Brown, Delta

4th Hunter Gumlickpuk, New Stuyahok

5th Maximus Gust, New Stuyahok

6th Elden Andrew, Mt. Edgecumbe


1st Tristan Goodell, Koliganek School

2nd Jake Stockhausen, Glennallen

3rd Kyler Matteson, Eielson

4th Elston Dock, Mt. Edgecumbe

5th Anthony Kapotak, Dillingham

6th Michael Garza, Eielson


1st Paul Dyment, Bethel

2nd Daniel Steffensen, Kenai Central

3rd Garrett Coen, Delta

4th Anthony Smith, Seward

5th Nolan Wald, Haines

6th Chase Huffman, Dillingham


1st Evander Elixman, Sitka

2nd Owen Whicker, Kenai Central

3rd Son Erikson, Nome

4th Colton Merriner, Grace Christian School

5th Nico Mesa, Eielson

6th Aaron Mute, Bethel


1st Russell Nyvall, Homer Mariners

2nd Josh Paulson, Grace Christian School

3rd Patricio Vasquez, Bethel

4th Cassius Sundown, Scammon Bay

5th Reymond Perez, Kenai Central

6th Jayden Stone, Glennallen


1st Karlin Ahwinona-Smith, Nome

2nd Kaden Duke, Petersburg

3rd Jonathan Oscar, Bethel

4th Antonio Perez, Kenai Central

5th Wesley Henry, Eielson

6th Dameon Tugmon-Grube, Redington Sr. Jr/Sr


1st Duke McGuffey, Nome

2nd Wyatt Litster, Petersburg

3rd Ellis Johnson, Bethel

4th Ty Newman, Susitna Valley Jr/Sr

5th Geremu Daggett, Grace Christian School

6th Frank St. Denis, Nikiski


1st Randy Churchill, Wrangell Wolves

2nd Jason Young, Sitka

3rd Jonas Anderson, Petersburg

4th Graelin Chaney, Dillingham

5th Adrien Kopanuk, Scammon Bay

6th Andy Peterson, Nome


1st Ethan Blatchley, Wrangell Wolves

2nd Wyatt Milnes, Redington Sr. Jr/Sr

3rd Mckennan Mayer, Valdez

4th Donovan Koba, Delta

5th Mason Fitka, Bethel

6th Michael David, Hutchison


1st Aiden Ojala, Sitka

2nd Stephen Scott, Anchorage Christian Schools

3rd Steven Warren, Delta

4th Tim Goodnight, Nikiski

5th Kael Osborne, Nome

6th Jackson Long, Haines


1st Benjamin Kaui, Barrow

2nd Orrin Hicks, Delta

3rd Lucas Marvin, Nome

4th Evan Doyle, Hutchison

5th Jonathan Patterson, Eielson

6th Matheas Lopez, Unalaska


1st Uatahouse Tuifua, Barrow

2nd Timmy Gammett, Kotzebue

3rd John VanBuskirk, Seward

4th Kyle Biggers, Petersburg

5th Mayaac Schmit, Nikiski

6th Logan Pinard, Hutchison

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.