Toksook Bay Dancers selected as Team Alaska’s cultural delegation

Toksook Bay dancers at AFN

Congratulations to Team Alaska’s 2018 Cultural Delegation: Toksook Bay Dancers!
The Toksook Bay Dancers are: Lisa Evans, Mark Pitka, Bruce Simons, Nolan Charles, Logan Charles, and Wilton Charles. The group’s coordinator, singer and songwriter Byron Nicholai, has shared his Yup’ik culture with audiences around the country, was featured in a short documentary, and was one of the Obama administration’s Arctic Youth Ambassadors.
The Toksook Bay dancers will join the rest of Team Alaska in traveling to the 2018 Arctic Winter Games in the Northwest Territories March 18-24th. The group will perform throughout the Games, share their cultural pride, and interact with cultural delegates from other countries in the north.
To support the Toksook Bay Dancers to participate in the Games, visit their GoFundMe page at:
The Arctic Winter Games brings the circumpolar world together to celebrate the north through athletic competition, cultural exchange and social interaction. The Games cultural and entertainment programs are an integral part of achieving these objectives.
Established in 1968 as a non-profit, Arctic Winter Games Team Alaska (AWGTA) cultivates and celebrates sport, social exchange, and culture. The volunteers and athletes strive to strengthen Alaska’s communities by providing young athletes with the opportunity to compete in friendly competition while sharing cultural values from northern regions around the world.
In 2018, the Arctic Winter Games are returning to the Northwest Territories’ South Slave region for the first time in 40 years. Hosted jointly by the communities of Hay River and Fort Smith, the Games’ 25th Anniversary will be a milestone event and a unique opportunity to connect with a large, highly engaged audience from across the Canadian North and Circumpolar World.
Questions can be directed to: [email protected].