Three candidates certified for City Council

Three people have signed up for the 2022 City of Bethel Regular Municipal Election to be held on October 4th, 2022 and there are four seats open. The City Clerk’s Office has certified three candidates, they are:

Rose “Sugar” Henderson

Patrick Snow

Sophie Swope

“As there are only three candidates for four seats there are a few ways the fourth seat can be filled,” said City Clerk Lori Strickler. Residents can submit a City Council Filing Packet for Write-In by September 29th at 5pm. If no write-in candidates submit a declaration of candidacy, the City Council will go through an appointment process.

There are three city council seats with terms ending October 2024, and one council seat with a term ending October 2023 up for election. Council members Perry Barr and Michelle DeWitt are not running for re-election. Council member Rose Henderson is the only incumbent.

The seat previously held by Mayor Conrad “CJ” McCormick is also open, he is running for the Alaska State House of Representatives District 38 – this term will end in 2023.

The Deadline for registering to vote, or to update your voter registration information in time for the October 4, 2022, Election is September 4, 2022. Go to to register online.