School board election candidates for 2022

by Greg Lincoln

Connor Uulan Beebe of Quinhagak takes a jump at the beach in the heat on June 11, 2022 during the height of summer despite the smoky day! photo by Cynthia Beebe

The filing deadline of August 5th, for the 2022 REAA (Regional Education Attendance Area) Election has come once again and here are the candidates for this year. Thank you for being an applicant for this very important service to our communities. A Regional Educational Attendance Area (REAA) is an educational area that is established in an unorganized borough of the state AS 14.08.031(a). REAA elections administered by the Division of Elections. REAA elections are held annually on the first Tuesday in October. This year it falls on October 4, 2022.


Section I – Seat A

•Hootch, Herman B., Emmonak

•Redfox, Doug, Emmonak

•Westlock, Gordon Jr.*, Alakanuk

Section I – Seat C

•Agayar, Max J.*, Alakanuk

•Teganlakla, Christine “Kameroff”, Emmonak

Section II – Seat E

Hoelscher, Edgar P.*, Hooper Bay

Section III – Seat I

•Lee, Joyce A., Mtn. Village

•Minock, Sheila A.*, Russian Mission

•Thompson, Kate, Mtn. Village


Section III – Seat D

•Pleasant, Wassilie*, Nunapitchuk

Section III – Seat E

Long, Richard L.

Section IV – Seat I

•Dyment, Hugh C.*, Bethel


Section I – Seat A

•Zaukar, Chelsey B., Crooked Creek

Section I – Seat C

Underwood, Ronald N. “Nathan”, Crooked Creek

Section II – Seat D

•Hoeldt, Susan*, Aniak

•Hoffman, Jeanette L., Aniak

•Simeon, Tracy M., Chuathbaluk

Section II – Seat F

•Boelens, Adrian M.*

•Simeon-Hunter, Teresa M., Chuathbaluk

Section III – Seat G

•Smith, Zac, Sleetmute


Section I – Seat B

Chase, Kathy W.*

Section I – Seat C

Chase, Kenneth W. “Ken”

Section III – Seat F

Dale, Alice M. “Ali”*, McGrath


Section I – Seat B

Atchak, John H. “John Henry”*, Chevak


Section I – Seat A

George, Samuel J.*, Akiachak

Section III – Seat G

Owen, Moses*, Akiak

Section III – Seat G

Williams, Mike P. Sr., Akiak