Musher start order set for Iditarod 51

by the Iditarod Trail Committee

A lively crowd filled up the Dena’ina Civic Convention Center for the annual Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race Mushers Banquet. The banquet is the largest fundraiser for the Iditarod Trail Committee, which is a 501(c)(3) non profit organization.

The 51st running of the Last Great Race on Earth includes 24 Alaskans, 4 international mushers, 9 rookies, 24 veterans and 2 former champions. The field of 33 mushers is made up of 25 men and 8 women. The race will again be run on the Southern Route, where the halfway point will be the checkpoint Iditarod. Tonight (March 2, 2023), the mushers drew for their respective starting order and the official 2023 Iditarod race start order is:

Bib #/Musher Name City/State Status

2 Jessie Holmes Brushkana, AK Veteran

3 Bailey Vitello Milan, NH Rookie

4 Mille Porsild DENMARK Veteran

5 Ryan Redington Knik, AK Veteran

6 Kristy Berington Knik, AK Veteran

7 Matt Hall Two Rivers, AK Veteran

8 Anna Berington Knik, AK Veteran

9 Nicolas Petit Big Lake, AK Veteran

10 KattiJo Deeter Fairbanks, AK Rookie

11 Dan Kaduce Chatanika, AK Veteran

12 Hunter Keefe Knik, AK Rookie

13 Jennifer LaBar Healy, AK Rookie

14 Brent Sass Eureka, AK Veteran

15 Richie Diehl Aniak, AK Veteran

16 Matthew Failor Willow, AK Veteran

17 Eric Kelly Knik, AK Veteran

18 Eddie Burke, Jr. Anchorage, AK Rookie

19 Bridgett Watkins Fairbanks, AK Rookie

20 Jason Mackey Knik, AK Veteran

21 Riley Dyche Fairbanks, AK Veteran

22 Gerhardt Thiart Cape Town, S. Africa Rookie

23 Kelly Maixner Big Lake, AK Veteran

24 Ramey Smyth Willow, AK Veteran

25 Joanna Jagow Two Rivers, AK Veteran

26 Jessie Royer Seeley Lake, MT Veteran

27 Jed Stephensen Sandpoint, ID Rookie

28 Wade Marrs Solon Springs, WI Veteran

29 Gregg Vitello Milan, NH Rookie

30 Christian Turner Mackay, Australia Veteran

31 Aaron Peck Grande Prairie, AB Canada Veteran

32 Mike Williams, Jr. Akiak, AK Veteran

33 Peter Kaiser Bethel, AK Veteran

34 Deke Naaktgeboren Fairbanks, AK Veteran

The ceremonial start took place on Saturday, March 4, at 10 a.m., in downtown Anchorage, followed by the official restart in Willow on Sunday, March 5, at 2 p.m. Sled dog teams will leave from the start line at each start in two minute intervals.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.