Kobe Jason Paul March 18, 2000 – June 26, 2017

Kobe Jason “Lugiiq” Paul was born to Byron and Leona on March 18, 2000 in Bethel, AK. Kobe has 2 older brothers, Christian and Brandon, a younger brother Colton, and a younger sister Naidene.

When he was of age Kobe attended the Chief Paul Memorial School kindergarten to 3rd, then from 3rd – 5th attended Seward Elementary School. He finished his remaining school years up until 10th grade at the Chief Paul Memorial School.

Kobe loved participating in subsistence activities from hunting and fishing to gathering greens and berries. He was his family’s “nukalpiaq” and with his brother and ap’a, never let the freezers go empty.

Kobe valued his heritage language; he would speak Yugtun as often as he could. And this young hunter immersed himself as best as he could in the traditional Yup’ik Eskimo culture through wood carving, making subsistence tools, and respecting and honoring the old Yup’ik ways and beliefs.

Kobe had many friends that he loved to play basketball and participate in NYO with. He was always pushing his friends to do better. Kobe was never shy, always striking up a conversation so that it wasn’t awkward. He was always having fun with his friends and making them laugh or smile.

Byron and Leona Paul and family would like to thank everyone for the food and other donations that were given to our family in this time of sorrow. If we missed anyone we are sorry and apologize. Quyana.

The family would like to thank VPSOs Lloyd Frederickson and Paulson Paul, George & Anna Chuckwuk, Ralph & Shirley Fox, Andrew & Maureen Dock, Norman & Carol Anaver, Patricia Chadwick, Elizabeth Smith, Naidene Baechler, Sophia Kruschke, Jolene John, Peter & Anna Lincoln, Vivian Andrews, Mary Feagle, Garrett Paul, Lynda Paul, Willie John, Howard & Maxine Paul, Roy & Margene Paul, Slyvia Mann, Sheila Carl, CVRF, Kugkaktlik Limited, RAVN Air, and NSB Heritage.

Pallbearers: Christian Paul, Brandon Paul, Roy Paul, Daron Paul, Kenyon Paul, P. Garrett Paul, Phillip Kiunya, Clinton Dock, Ralph Fox, Dennis Chuckwuk, Eddie Chuckwuk, Colby Feagle, Chris Feagle, and Bruce Simons.

Honorary Pallbearers: Joshua Paul, Johnny Paul, Paul Paul, George Chuckwuk, Peter Lincoln, Bill Feagle Sr., John Jay Tretikoff, Norman Tretikoff, and James Sipary Sr.