House elects Speaker for 33rd Legislative Session

Today (Jan. 18th, 2023) the Alaska House of Representatives elected a Speaker for the 33rd Legislature and in a vote of 26 to 14 named Representative Cathy Tilton (District 26, R-Wasilla) as Speaker of the House.

“I am honored to be selected as the Speaker of the House.” – stated Rep. Tilton. “I am excited to start working with all the members of the House to ensure the people of Alaska are represented. I am humbled by the faith my colleagues have in me and will embrace this leadership role with humility and greatly appreciate the opportunity to lead the House of Representatives.”

The Alaska House Republican Caucus pledges to lead this body with efficiency and civility so that the people of Alaska are once again confident in the leadership of this great state.