Great Alaska Wrestling Tournament Results

The Great Alaska Wrestling Tournament for high school boys took place this past weekend at the WarriorDome in Bethel – hosted by the Bethel Warrior Wrestling team. Wrestlers from the conference battled it out on the mats for the top two spots on the podium and a chance to advance to the State Wrestling tournament to be held in Anchorage on December 16-17, 2022.

Schools participating in the Great Alaska Conference Division II included: Akiachak, Alakanuk, Aniak, Anna Tobeluk (Nunapitchuk), Bethel, Chaputnguak (Chefornak), Chevak, Eek, Emmonak, George Morgan (Kalskag), Hooper Bay, Ignatius Bean (Mt Village), Ket’acik Aapalluk (Kwethluk), Kotlik, Kuinerrarmiut (Quinhagak), Napakiak, Nunam Iqua (Sheldon’s Point), Pilot Station, Scammon Bay, St Mary’s, Tuntutuliak, Unalaska, and Z. John Williams (Napasiak).

The Bethel Warriors took first place in the team competition, in second place were the Quinhagak Seahawks. In third were the Chevak Comets. Bethel Warrior Paul Dyment was named the tournament’s Outstanding Wrestler for the boys. Good luck at state!

Great Alaska Wrestling Tournament Results

Dec. 9-10, 2022

Bethel, Alaska


1st Brendon Brown, Quinhagak

2nd Jason Ekamrak, Akiachak

3rd Ivan Rivers, Chevak

4th ANDRE HUNTER, Mt. Village

6th Damien George, Scammon Bay

6th Jonah Kameroff, Kalskag


1st Alvino Vasquez, Bethel

2nd Troy Morgan, Aniak

3rd Ernest Smith, Hooper Bay

4th Drini Pellumbi, Bethel

6th AYAGARAK BILL, Mt. Village

6th Julian Sebastian, Bethel


1st Daylon Brown, Quinhagak

2nd Sheldon Smith, Bethel

3rd Cache Henning, Unalaska

4th Truth O`Brien, Hooper Bay

5th Aden Atcherian, Chevak


1st Cutler Matthew, Quinhagak

2nd Princeton Mike, Kotlik School

3rd Warren Nicolai, Bethel

4th Dylan Brown, Quinhagak

5th Jason Chief, Bethel


1st Paul Dyment, Bethel

2nd Ace Hill, Chevak

3rd Eldred Paradeza, Unalaska

4th Jonathan Alexie Jr., Quinhagak

6th Frederick Peterson, St. Mary`s

6th Greg Turner, Bethel


1st Aaron Mute, Bethel

2nd Jerritt Nicholai, Quinhagak

3rd Keegan Thompson, Bethel

4th Dante Nukusuk, Hooper Bay

6th Kaden Tangiegak, Chevak

6th Quentin Riley, Napaskiak


1st Patricio Vasquez, Bethel

2nd Cassius Sundown, Scammon Bay

3rd Deshawn Nick, Anna Tobeluk Memorial School

4th Shawn McIntyre, Bethel


1st Liam Pingayak-Green, Chevak

2nd Garrett Nicholai, Anna Tobeluk Memorial School

3rd Jonathan Oscar, Bethel

4th Awesome Ulroan, Chevak


1st Ellis Johnson, Bethel

2nd Avron Atchak, Chevak

3rd John Lupie, Tuntutuliak

4th Gunner Fitka, Bethel


1st Adrien Kopanuk, Scammon Bay

2nd Mason Fitka, Bethel

3rd AIDEN GEORGE, Mt. Village

4th Samuel Atchak, Bethel

6th John Tinker, St. Mary`s

6th Adrian Amos, Bethel


1st Greg Larson, Napaskiak

2nd Cameron Tai, St. Mary`s

3rd Dylan Jackson, Bethel

4th Jamin Tolai, Unalaska

6th OWEN BILL, Mt. Village

6th Jordan Carl, Tuntutuliak


1st Landon Burke, Bethel

2nd Jacob Carmichael, Napaskiak

3rd David Sipary, St. Mary`s


1st Matheas Lopez, Unalaska

2nd Zahcory Jacobs-McDonald, Bethel

3rd Matthew Afcan, St. Mary`s


1st Ethan Alstrom, St. Mary`s

Boys Team Results

1 Bethel High School, 269.5; 2 Quinhagak, 115.5; 3 Chevak, 106.0; 4 Unalaska, 65.0; 5 St. Mary`s, 62.0; 6 Scammon Bay 47.5; 7 Hooper Bay, 44.0; 8 Napaskiak, 43.0; 9 Mountain Village, 40.0; 10 Nunapitchuk, 33.0; 11 Akiachak, 30.0; 12 Aniak, 20.0; 12 Kotlik, 20.0; 12 Tuntutuliak, 20.0; 15 Emmonak, 4.0; 16 Kalskag, 3.0; 17 Alakanuk, 0 0.0; 17 Chefornak, 0 0.0; 17 Eek 0.0; 17 Kwethluk, 0.0; 17 Napakiak, 0.0; 17 Nunam Iqua, 0.0; 17 Pilot Station 0.0.