Coastal Conference 1A boys win state Sportsmanship Award

The Chefornak Shaman boys are the recipients of the 2017 State Sportsmanship Award. Here is the team with their coaches, Robert & Eva.

by Greg Lincoln

Congratulations to Coaches Robert and Eva Panruk and to their team, the Chefornak Shamans for winning the 2017 State 1A Basketball Sportsmanship Award for the boys. This award is given to the team that is positive in supporting each other and others with encouragement while refraining from words or actions that would reflect negatively on their school and team.

This team graciously accepted all calls made by the refs without complaining. They made sure to encourage their teammates through victory and in defeat. When the other team was down, they helped them get back up. And when the ball was on the floor after a whistle, they were quick to get it and hand it to the refs.

Since 1993, the boys Sportsmanship Team Award has been bestowed upon teams from the YK delta region a total of 11 times. Chefornak now joins Scammon Bay (1993), Kwigillingok (1997), Kotlik (2000), Chevak (2001), Aniak (2003 & 2006), Russian Mission (2005), and Toksook Bay (2011, 2013, 2015, 2016).

We are so proud of you!

The ladies Sportsmanship Award was given to the Sand Point Eagles.

This year the academic awards went to the Buckland Sissuani boys who had a total combined GPA of 3.58. For the girls it was the Gambell Qughsatkut or King Polar Bears who had a GPA of 3.77.

The all-tournament team winners were selected by ASAA sponsors. The girls from the YK region who received this award are Hayley Akeralrea and Kiah Charlie of Scammon Bay, Celina Johnson of St. Mary’s, and Shauna Koonuk of Aniak. For the boys it was Jamal Alstrom of Alakanuk, and Wally Flynn of Chefornak. Good job, well done!

Class 1A All-Tournament Team


Hayley Akerelrea, Scammon Bay

Jacqueline Bennum, Kake

Kiah Charlie, Scammon Bay

Olivia Delgado, Ninilchik

Jalaya Duarte, King Cove

Vera Fefelov, Nikolaevsk

Marjorie Hingsbergen, Selawik

Shaylynn Hingsbergen, Selawik

Celina Johnson, St. Mary’s

Olivia Juhl, Tri-Valley

Shauna Koonuk, Aniak

Elaina Mack, King Cove

Kylah Melton, Buckland

Madison Thompson, Sand Point

Sarah Washington, Buckland

DeeAnn White, Ninilchik


Jamal Alstrom, Alakanuk

Benjamin Apangalook, Gambell

Josh Clark, Newhalen

Mike Eaglestaff, Hydaburg

Wally Flynn, Chefornak

Dalton Geppert, Ninilchik

Mason Hoppe, Klawock

Ronald Jones, Buckland

Douglas Kalmbacher, Newhalen

Kalenik Molodih, Nikolaevsk

Tyler Presley, Ninilchik

Everson Paniptchuk, Shaktoolik

Ian Samuelson, King Cove

Allen Starr, Tanana

Wallace Ungwiluk, Gambell

Austin White, Ninilchik

2A All-Tournament Team


Arctic Ivanoff, Unalakleet

Aiden Fields, Glennallen

Stewart Conn, Petersburg

Charlie Tuzroyluk, Point Hope

Danny Marsden, Metlakatla

Wolf Brooks, Petersburg

Christian Adams, Cordova

Matthew Fauasau, Unalaska

Trenton Clark, Metlakatla

Blaine Volk, Petersburg

(The girls 2A all-tournament team was not available)

Gatorade Alaska Players of the Year

Austin White, 1A Ninilchik

Alissa Pili, 4A Dimond High School

These awards were given out at the end of the tournament on March 18th. Congratulations to all our student-athletes!