1A Coastal Conference Awards: Chefornak Lady Shamans and Toksook Bay Islander boys win first place

The 2022 1A Alaska Coastal Conference basketball tournament has new champions as of this Saturday, March 5th, 2022 – the Chefornak Lady Shamans and the Toksook Bay Islander boys. The Lady Shamans defeated the Lady Bluejays of Tuntutuliak 38-30 and the Islanders defeated the Chefornak Shamans 78-21 on the last day of the tournament in Bethel. The conference finals were hosted by the Lower Kuskokwim School District and the Bethel Regional High School.



Girls Free Throw: Champion Chefornak Lady Shaman Stella Abraham and runner-up Quinhagak Lady Seahawk Allison Petluska
Boys Free Throw: Champion Kipnuk Falcon Kholan Carl and runner-up Quinhagak Seahawk Jerritt Nicholai
Hot Shot Girls: Champion Kwethluk Lady Carayak Joette Alexie and runner-up Tuntutuliak Lady Bluejay Aezlynn Carl
Hot Shot Boys: Kipnuk Falcon Isaiah Paul and runner-up Toksook Bay Islander Abraham Julius
GPA Award Boys: Kipnuk Falcons, 3.49 gpa
GPA Award Girls: Lady Quinhagak Seahawks, 3.45 gpa
3rd Place Girls: Toksook Bay Lady Islanders with Coach Frank Pitka and Assistant Coach Nellie Charles
2nd Place Girls: Tuntutuliak Lady Bluejays with Coach Lisa Fitka and Assistant Coach Sabrina Carl
1st Place Girls: Chefornak Lady Shamans with Coach Eva Panruk and Assistant Coach Robert Panruk

3rd Place Boys: Tuntutuliak Bluejays with Coach Carlotta Evan and Assistant Coach Jimmie Andrew
2nd Place Boys: Chefornak Shamans with Coach Robert Panruk and Assistant Eva Robert Panruk
1st Place Boys: Toksook Bay Islanders with Coach Simeon Lincoln
Girls All-Tournament Team: Daysha Tinker, Kongiganak Wolverines; Aezlynn Carl, Tuntutuliak Bluejays, Shaylene Nicholas, Akiuk Grizzlies; Joette Alexie, Kwethluk Carayiit; Rosemary Henry, Toksook Bay Islanders; Hilary Larson, Napaskiak Hawks; Sarah Lupie, Kongiganak Wolverines; Naomi Wassillie, Chefornak Shamans; Chayland Pleasant, Quinhagak Seahawks; Michelle Frank, Tuntutuliak Bluejays; Precious Tuluk, Toksook Bay Islanders; Katie Demientieff, Akiuk Grizzlies.
Boys All-Tournament Team: Colton Angaiak, Toksook Bay Islanders; Jonathan Alexie Jr., Quinhagak Seahawks; Jason Pavila, Kwethluk Carayiit; Michael Flynn, Chefornak Shamans; Isaiah Paul, Kipnuk Falcons; Kurtis Castel, Tuntutuliak Bluejays; Garrett Nicholai, Nunapitchuk Wolves; Ashton White, Tuntutuliak Bluejays; Matthew Panruk III, Chefornak Shamans; Abraham Julius, Toksook Bay Islanders.
Boys Sportsmanship Award: Mekoryuk Herders
Girls Sportsmanship Award: Chefornak Shamans