Carl of Akiak appointed to newly created Tribal Advisory Council

Sheila Carl, Tribal Council member of the Akiak Native Community has been appointed to the Tribal Advisory Council for the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO). Other Alaskans appointed also include Diana Zirul, Tribal Council Treasurer, Kenaitze Indian Tribe; and Sarah Lukin, Chief Strategy Officer, Cook Inlet Region, Inc.

Gene L. Dodaro, Comptroller General of the United States and head of the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO), announced on September 15th, 2022 the first appointments to GAO’s newly established Tribal Advisory Council, which will provide the congressional watchdog with insights and recommendations on matters affecting Tribal Nations and their citizens.

“The Tribal Advisory Council, which is being officially launched today, consists of tribal leaders and others who can provide GAO with valuable advice to help Congress oversee federal programs serving tribes, their citizens, and indigenous peoples,” Dodaro said. “Many highly qualified individuals expressed an interest in serving on the Council, and I’m very pleased to announce this first round of appointments. We look forward to their assistance in addressing the many challenges facing tribal communities.”

The newly appointed members two to three year terms begin September 2022. Joining Carl, Zirul, and Lukin are Cheryl Andrews-Maltais, Chairwoman, Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head Aquinnah; Tehassi tasi Hill, Chairman, Oneida Nation; John Lowery, Chairman, Lumbee Tribe of North Carolina; Myra Pickering, Second Member, Tribal Council, Otoe-Missouria Tribe; Corinne Sams, Member at Large, Board of Trustees, Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation; Kip Spotted Eagle, Councilman, Yankton Sioux Tribe; Elizabeth (Lisa) White Pipe, Bull Creek Tribal Representative, Rosebud Sioux Tribe; Sarah Curtis, CEO and President, Choctaw Global, LLC, Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma; Virginia “Ginger” Fuata, Consumer Board Member, Waianae Coast Comprehensive Health Center, Native Hawaiian Communities; Rhonda Harjo, Attorney and former Deputy Chief Counsel (retired), U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs, Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians/Mvskoke Nation; Kasie Nichols, Director, Office of Self-Governance, Citizen Potawatomi Nation; Christopher Adam Red, Auditor, Internal Audit Department, Southern Ute Indian Tribe; and Lashawna Tso, Executive Director, Washington Office, Navajo Nation.