Calista Statement on Subsistence Representatives added to Alaska Bycatch Review Task Force

Calista (cha-LIS-tah) Corporation is pleased Governor Michael Dunleavy has added subsistence representatives to the Alaska Bycatch Review Task Force.

Governor Dunleavy created the Alaska Bycatch Review Task Force in November following last year’s devastating collapse of Yukon River salmon fisheries. The task force consists of 13 voting members from across Alaska who are charged to explore the issue of bycatch and make recommendations to policy makers. The subsistence members were appointed in March.

George Guy of Kwethluk is the subsistence representative from a Kuskokwim River community. He is the general manager of the Kwethluk Power Company and serves on the Board of Directors of Calista Corporation.

Karma Ulvi is the subsistence representative from a Yukon River community. She is the Chief of the Native Village of Eagle and the Tribal Administrator with Tanana Chiefs Conference.

Guy and Ulvi participate in the Task Force’s Western Alaska salmon committee, which Guy co-chairs. Other committee members include Ragnar Alstrom, executive director of the Yukon Delta Fisheries Development Association, Rep. Bryce Edgmon of Dillingham, and co-chair Stephanie Madsen.