Calista Corporation 2021 Director Election results announced

by Calista Staff

Shareholders choose experience and dedicated service.

In the Calista (cha-LIS-tah) Corporation 2021 Annual Meeting held on Thursday, July 1, Shareholders reelected Myron Naneng and Robert Beans, and elected new directors Dora Moore and Ron Hoffman. Nearly 11,000 Shareholders voted this year.

Because too few Shareholders submitted proxies by the original deadline of June 28, at 5 pm AKDT to reach quorum, it was necessary to briefly adjourn the Annual Meeting, in accordance with the corporation’s bylaws and rules, to permit additional proxies received before the Annual Meeting to be counted. Quorum was reached on June 29, prior to the Annual Meeting, with just over 50 percent of Shareholders voting.

The top voting communities in the Yukon-Kuskokwim Region were Eek, Akiak, Akiachak and Nunapitchuk, with at least a 70 percent voting rate. Over 7-in-10 Shareholders voted online this year, including over 4-in-10 voting Elders.

For the past two years, the meeting has been conducted virtually due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Board of Directors decided in April to hold the meeting virtually this year. The health of our Shareholders continues to be a top priority.

“Calista thanks all the Shareholders who voted this year,” said Calista Corp. President/CEO Andrew Guy. “Only Shareholder votes can make an Annual Meeting valid to elect Directors.”

Annual Meeting information is posted at