Alaska Territorial Guard Discharge Ceremony

The Alaska Native Heritage Center hosting a discharge ceremony to honor 16 members of the Alaska Territorial Guard (ATG). Governor Bill Walker and Brig. Gen. Laurie Hummel, adjutant general of the Alaska National Guard and commissioner of the Department of Military & Veterans Affairs, presented discharge documents and ATG service medals to the families of those that served. The event was free and open to the public.

ATG members being honored during the May 26th, 2017 ceremony were: PVT Frederick A. Asicksik, Shaktoolik; LT Robert B. Atwood, Anchorage; PVT Ole O. Bahr, Jr., Nome; PVT Nick Beans, Mountain Village; PVT Laura Betz Wright, Haycock; PVT George Bourdukofsky, St. Paul; PVT Peter Cleveland, Eek; PVT Harold Dinkel, Palmer; CPL Carl Durand, Anchorage; PVT Frederick Grindle, Naknek; PVT Arseny Kenezuroff, Belkofski; PVT Constantine Lestenkof, St. George; LT Henry Littlefield, Metlakatla; PVT Jay B. Mallott, Yakutat; PVT John Merculieff, St. Paul; and Steve Otten, St. Michael.

The State of Alaska Office of Veterans Affairs ATG Task Force worked directly with the U.S. Department of the Army in securing the discharges. In partnership with the Alaska Native Heritage Center, the Task Force plans to make this an annual event.